On Monday, December 2, 2013, the IFP hosted their 2013 Gotham Independent Film Awards in New York City at Cipriani Wall Street. Each year the awards ceremony honors the filmmaking community, expands the audience for independent films, and supports the work that IFP does behind the scenes throughout the year to bring such films to fruition. A host of celebrities, filmmakers, actors, and fans gather to honor those who have used their creative talents to make truly awe inspiring independent films.

Forest Whitaker at the Gotham Awards

Forest Whitaker – Gotham Awards

The Cipriani was the perfect setting for the awards ceremony. The massive event space, for that night, lent its charm to a diverse room full of film enthusiasts. The night began with a cocktail hour of mingling, catching up and networking. Of course the open bar was packed as guests eagerly waited to try the cocktails provided Russian Standard Vodka. The cocktail of the night was the Moscow Mule, a concoction of vodka, ginger beer, lime wedge and ice — served in a copper mug.

2013 Gotham Awards

After an hour of schmoozing and boozing, guests retreated to their seats for the award ceremony. Floating through the room were notable guests, such as Mayor Bloomberg, Forest Whitaker, Ethan Hawke, Morgan Spurlock, Steve Buscemi, John Goodman, Isaiah Washington, Rashida Jones, Lee Daniels and more. The host of the night was comedian, Nick Kroll.

Mayor Bloomberg at the 2013 Gotham Awards

Mayor Bloomberg at the 2013 Gotham Awards

Phaon Spurlock and Morgan Spurlock at the Gotham Awards

Phaon Spurlock and Morgan Spurlock at the Gotham Awards

Michael B. Jordan Gotham Awards

Michael B. Jordan at the Gotham Awards

This year, the IFP paid tribute to the late James Gandolfini, Richard Linklater, Katherine Oliver and Forest Whitaker. One of the most riveting tribute speeches that night was given by Director and Producer Lee Daniels to Forest Whitaker. Daniels talked about his friendship to Forest, his journey to create The Butler, and the importance of having a black actor that younger actors can look up to. Equally, Forest Whitaker acceptance speech was just as great.

The winners of the night were:

Best Feature – Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Documentary – The Act of Killing

Best Actor – Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress – Brie Larson in Short Term 12

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director – Ryan Coogler for Fruitvale Station

Breakthrough Actor – Michael B. Jordan in Fruitvale Station

Gotham Independent Film Audience Award – Jake Shimabukuro: Life on Four Strings

Russian Standard Vodka

Following the three course dinner and ceremony, guests partied the night away at the after party at the Andaz Downtown, sponsored by Russian Standard Vodka.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *